iCloud Sync FAQ's

Follow

Is there a "Sync Now" button, or can I force iCloud to sync changes?

What iCloud message should I choose? Replace, Restart, etc.

What if my logbook is not syncing?

Does iCloud Sync backup my logbook?

How can I know that syncing is occurring?

How fast does iCloud Sync transfer data?

Will changes I make offline, such as in Airplane mode or somewhere without internet access, sync through iCloud?

Can I use iCloud Sync if I keep my logbook in Dropbox on my Mac?

What if I don't see my images?

 

Is there a "Sync Now" button, or can I force iCloud to sync changes?

No. While iCloud provides many benefits, it does not provide direct control over data transfers. The application can request uploads and downloads, but iCloud is optimized to transfer resources as efficiently as possible. Often this means changes will be collected until they are sent at once to the iCloud servers every few minutes. Incoming changes behave similarly, so LogTen Pro is notified of changes only after the system processes on the device check the iCloud servers and deliver new data. Other factors such as cellular reception or battery status can also affect the rate and frequency at which iCloud transfers data.

 

What iCloud message should I choose? Replace or Restart?

Replace will replace the data on your device with the data that exists in iCloud. Restart will load the data on your device to iCloud and make that the new logbook in iCloud. What you need depends on the message you are getting and your situation. Here are some common situations and messages:

When Adding a New Device

When adding a new LogTen Pro app with an empty logbook to iCloud Sync, you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud to your new device. To accomplish this, choose to Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will be replaced with the logbook file from iCloud.

 After Re-installing the LogTen Pro app

A fresh install of LogTen Pro app will have a blank logbook file, so you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud back to your device. To accomplish this, choose Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will be replaced with the existing logbook file in iCloud.

"Other Devices in iCloud" message

If you were not expecting to see the Other Devices in iCloud alert when you enabled iCloud Sync, do not be alarmed! Restoring your device, or upgrading macOS or iOS can cause your device to be identified differently in iCloud. While it may be the same physical device, it may appear to be from a new device in iCloud. It is also possible that logbook data from an old device was not removed from iCloud. If your device already has your current logbook, you can choose Restart iCloud Sync to avoid syncing with existing iCloud data.

 After Restoring a Logbook Backup

If you have just restored a logbook backup, you will usually want to put the restored logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the restored logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

 After Installing a Logbook sent to you via email

 If you have just installed a new logbook file (e.g. with imported data), you will usually want to put the new logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the new logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

 

What if my logbook is not syncing?

Please refer to this article on Troubleshooting iCloud Sync.

 

Does iCloud Sync backup my logbook?

iCloud Sync should not be relied upon as a backup method. Although a copy of your data will exist in iCloud, it is inaccessible if something were to happen to your iPhone, iPad, or Mac. The iCloud data will always reflect the current state of your logbook, so it is not possible to restore it to an earlier copy.

Please refer to this article for a variety of backup recommendations: What should I backup?

 

 

How can I know that syncing is occurring?

Whenever your device imports data from iCloud Sync, it will update the Last Updated section. This date refers to when incoming changes were processed, but know that changes are always being sent to iCloud just after they are made. LogTen Pro does not have visibility into when those changes reach the iCloud servers though.

You can find the 'Last Updated' in LogTen Pro's Sync settings:

  • On the Mac: at the top menu bar, select LogTen Pro >> Preferences. Choose the Sync tab of the next dialog.
  • On an iOS device: on the bottom tab bar, select More >> Settings >> Sync.

 

How fast does iCloud Sync transfer data?

Many factors determine iCloud Sync performance, such as internet connection quality, server status, and even battery level. iCloud is a passive service that is always running in the background. iCloud watches for any changes on the device or on the server and then transfer data to and from the iCloud servers as efficiently as possible.

A huge benefit of this is that you do not need to worry about an internet connection when you're using LogTen Pro. Any changes made while offline will automatically sync when your device can reach a network again.

On a fast internet connection, syncing might take only a few seconds, but a few minutes is very normal.

If syncing does not occur after a long time, please refer to this article on Troubleshooting iCloud Sync.

 

Will changes I make offline, such as in Airplane mode or somewhere without internet access, sync through iCloud?

Yes! You do not need to worry about your internet connection when you're using LogTen Pro. All changes are passed to a special iCloud process on the device whether you are online or offline, and your device will transfer changes to and from the iCloud servers whenever it can access a network.

 

Can I use iCloud Sync if I keep my logbook in Dropbox on my Mac?

On a Mac, you have the option to save your logbook database in an alternate location. The data location needs to remain consistent for iCloud Sync to function, so it is necessary to choose 'Remember this Location' when opening your logbook from an alternate location.

If you wish to use iCloud Sync with Dropbox, it is very important that the logbook file in Dropbox is not shared by multiple Macs. Multiple Macs can use logbooks in Dropbox, as long as they each use their own logbook file.

Please refer to this article regarding Alternate Logbook Locations for more information and additional details for setting up this behavior.

 

What if I don't see my images?

Images and signatures sync through iCloud in the background on a regular basis. Depending on their file size, they can take longer to appear on other devices.

If LogTen Pro is asked to display an unavailable image, it will ask iCloud to download the image and display a placeholder cloud icon image. When the image downloads successfully, the image will automatically refresh.

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.