Replace, Restart...What iCloud message should I choose?

Follow

 

When Adding a New Device

When adding a new LogTen Pro app with an empty logbook to iCloud Sync, you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud to your new device. To accomplish this, choose to Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will be replaced with the logbook file from iCloud.

 

After Re-installing the LogTen Pro app

A fresh install of LogTen Pro app will have a blank logbook file, so you will most often want to download the existing data in iCloud back to your device. To accomplish this, choose Replace from iCloud, and the empty logbook file will be replaced with the existing logbook file in iCloud.

 

After Restoring a Logbook Backup

If you have just restored a logbook backup, you will usually want to put the restored logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the restored logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

 

After Installing a Logbook sent to you via email

 If you have just installed a new logbook file (e.g. with imported data), you will usually want to put the new logbook on each of your devices. You can do this by choosing to Restart iCloud Sync. This kind of "restart" will prevent the new logbook from merging with existing iCloud data, and iCloud Sync will be restarted with only your newly restored backup.

If iCloud Sync is already enabled on your other devices, each will be notified of the restart, and you can download the newly restored logbook to each other device. If iCloud Sync is not yet enabled on those devices, you will be able to choose to replace each device's logbook with the iCloud logbook when enabling iCloud Sync.

 

 

Unexpected "Other Devices in iCloud" message

If you were not expecting to see the Other Devices in iCloud alert when you enabled iCloud Sync, do not be alarmed! Restoring your device, or upgrading macOS or iOS can cause your device to be identified differently in iCloud. While it may be the same physical device, it may appear to be from a new device in iCloud. It is also possible that logbook data from an old device was not removed from iCloud. If your device already has your current logbook, you can choose Restart iCloud Sync to avoid syncing with existing iCloud data.

 

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.